Ajinkya Rahane Termed As the Indian Cricketer of the Year

  • Ajinkya Rahane Termed As the Indian Cricketer of the Year
26-05-2015 , :: . |

The CEAT awards for the current year were announced on Monday and several cricketers for their contributions to the cricket world in different categories were awarded and honoured at the ceremony. It is on the same occasion where the Indian Cricketer of the Year award too was announced which went to the much deserving and budding Indian batsman Ajinkya Rahane. Rahane, after his bright performance in the Cricket World Cup held this year and in the recent IPL, very well deserves to be accredited and praised.

Many Indian cricketers, former and present and cricketers from other teams of the world were present and honoured at the event. Former Indian cricketer, the legendary Kapil Dev was announced and honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Among other players winning different prizes include Ranji Trophy champion Karnataka’s captain, fast bowler Vinay Kumar, who was announced as the CEAT Domestic Cricketer of the Year for 2014-15.

When it came to naming the International Cricketer of the Year, Sri Lankan legend Kumar Sangakkara won the title.  

Vinay Kumar, while receiving the prize from former India captain Nari Contractor, said, “Karnataka is dominant across different formats in first-class cricket because whenever there is a crisis situation, someone in the side puts his hand up to take responsibility for team performance.”

Moreover, the IPL team Mumbai Indians’ skipper Rohit Sharma was also given a Special Award for his record-breaking 264 against Sri Lanka in a one-dayer at Kolkata. Sharma said, “I had come back into the game after a gap of three months and just went out to bat with an open mind, not thinking about anything.”  

Some other award winners include T20 Player of the Year: Dwayne Bravo; International Batsman of the Year: Hashim Amla; International Bowler of the Year: Rangana Herath; Popular Choice award: Kieron Pollard and Young Player of the Year: Deepak Hooda.

Leave a reply.