10 Assam Districts Ban Travel To and From Guwahati

Representational Image

In light of the increasing number of COVID-19 positive cases surfacing in Guwahati, as well as in other places of the state like Jorhat and Dibrugarh, a decision has been taken to almost ban the entry of people traveling from Guwahati into 10 districts of the state. The ones traveling, however, have to adhere to strict rules and regulations.

The districts include Tinsukia, Dibrugarh, Marigaon, Nagaon, Kokrajhar, Sonitpur, Biswanath, Nalbari, Barpeta and South Salmara.

People from the said districts will also not be able to travel to Guwahati as per the latest decision taken by the authorities concerned.

It is to be noted that apart from Guwahati, which is currently under lockdown, Jorhat will alsoo face a lockdown from July 9 to contain the spread of the virus in the community.

Dibrugarh, in light of the recent rise in the number of positive cases, may also face a similar lockdown in the days ahead, as hinted at by Dr Naba Jyoti Gogoi, Jt Director, Health, Dibrugarh recently.  

You might also like