1st phase poll campaign ended today


The much-awaited Lok Sabha Elections 2019 are here. Phase 1 of voting begins on April 11, Thursday. The campaigning for first phase ends today with leaders putting their best foot forward to woo voters. As per the Election Commission guidelines, campaigning for the ensuing general elections  was to continue till 5 pm today.

91 constituencies spread over 20 States and Union Territories will go to polls in this phase on Thursday.

All parliamentary constituencies in 10 States and Union Territories will go to polls in the first phase. These include Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Andaman and Nicobar and Lakshadweep, Telangana and Uttarakhand.

Other states where voting will take place in the first phase are Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra, Manipur, Odisha, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal. Campaigning will also end for Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh and 28 of 147 seats in Odisha.

71 constituencies spread over 9 states will go to polls in this phase on the 29 of this month. Scrutiny will take place Wednesday, while April 12 is the last date for withdrawal of candidature.

After big rallies of top national leaders including Prime Minister Narendra Modi,Amit Shah and Congress chief Rahul Gandhi, the campaigning for the five Lok Sabha seats in Uttarakhand in the first phase of the 2019 general elections comes to an end on Tuesday evening.

You might also like