2447 migrants granted Indian citizenship


A total of 2447 legal migrants belonging to six identified minority communities from Afghanistan, Bangladesh, and Pakistan have been granted Indian citizenship by Collectors of 16 Districts and Secretary (Home) of 7 States.

In a written reply to Sitting Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MP from Pali PP Chaudhary, Minister of State for Home Affairs, Govt. of India Nityanand Rai clarified the matter.

Rai said many legal migrants belonging to six minority communities from Afghanistan, Bangladesh, and Pakistan have acquired citizenship of India as per the provisions of The Citizenship Act, 1955 and rules made thereunder on becoming eligible for the same.

For speedy disposal of their citizenship applications, Central Government, in December, 2016, has delegated its power to grant citizenship by registration under Section 5 and by naturalisation under Section 6 of the Citizenship Act, 1955 to the Collectors of 16 districts in 7 States and Secretary (Home) of these 7 States where most of these migrants are residing : Rai added.

Rai also emphasized – “The Citizenship (Amendment) Bill was introduced in Lok Sabha in 2016 and was referred to a Joint Committee of Parliament. The Joint Committee presented its report to Parliament on 07.01.2019. The Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2019 was considered and passed in Lok Sabha on 08.01.2019. The Bill was pending for consideration of Rajya Sabha. Consequent to the dissolution of 16th Lok Sabha, the Bill has lapsed”.

You might also like