All 4 accused in Samjhauta Express blast case acquitted

All four accused in the Samjhauta Express blast case – Aseemanand, Lokesh Sharma, Kamal Chauhan and Rajinder Chaudhary – have been acquitted by Special NIA Court in Panchkula on Wednesday.

As many as 68 Pakistani nationals had lost their lives in the blast that ripped apart two coaches of the Pakistan-bound train near Panipat in Haryana on February 18, 2007. Two IEDs planted inside the UP-Attari Express went off after the ill-fated train began its journey at 22:50 hours from New Delhi station with 16 coaches while the police managed to recover two unexploded bombs.

You might also like