Arunachal Assembly Elects New Speaker, Dy Speaker


Arunachal Pradesh Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) legislators Pasang Dorjee Sona and Tesam Pongte on Tuesday were elected unopposed as Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the Arunachal Pradesh Assembly respectively.

Pro-tem Speaker Phosum Khimhun declared Son-, a three-time legislator from Mechuka Assembly constituency- as Speaker of the 7th Arunachal Legislative Assembly.

Immediately after occupying the Speaker’s chair, Sona presided over the election of the Deputy Speaker and announced Pongte, a two-time legislator from Changlang North Assembly constituency, would be his deputy.

You might also like