Assam Assembly By-Election Polling Starts at 7 AM


Polling of by-election for the 4 assembly seats in Rangapara, Sonari, Ratabari, and Jania assembly constituency has been going on since 7 AM on Monday morning.

The by-polls to these constituencies were necessitated after sitting BJP MLAs Pallab Lochan Das (Rangapara), Topon Gogoi (Sonari) and Kripanath Mallah (Ratabari) along with Congress MLA Abdul Khaleque (Jania) were elected to the Lok Sabha.

In Rangapara, there are five candidates in the fray: Rajen Bortakur (BJP), Kartik Kurmi (Congress), Royal Soreng (CPI-M), Sanjit Rajbangshi (SUCI-C) and Arup Kumar Chowdhury (Bharatiya Gana Parishad).

BJP’s Nabanita Handique and Sushil Kumar Suri of Congress are the contestants in Sonari.

In Ratabari, there are four candidates in the fray:  Bijoy Malakar (BJP), Keshab Prasad Rajak (Congress), Birendra Ravidas (SUCI-C) and Parikhit Roy (Independent).

In Jania, there are the highest numbers of nine candidates in the fray. However, the contest is likely to be triangular among Towfiqur Rahman (BJP), Shamsul Hoque (INC) and Rafiqul Islam (AIUDF).

You might also like