Assam by-election results today


The counting of votes for the Assam Assembly by-elections started from 8 am on Thursday and the fate of 20 contestants in Rangapara, Sonari, Ratabari, and Jania will be known by the afternoon. People of the four constituencies voted on Monday (October 21).

The by-polls to these constituencies were necessitated after sitting BJP MLAs Pallab Lochan Das (Rangapara), Topon Gogoi (Sonari) and Kripanath Mallah (Ratabari) along with Congress MLA Abdul Khaleque (Jania) were elected to the Lok Sabha.

In Rangapara, there were five candidates in the fray: Rajen Bortakur (BJP), Kartik Kurmi (Congress), Royal Soreng (CPI-M), Sanjit Rajbangshi (SUCI-C) and Arup Kumar Chowdhury (Bharatiya Gana Parishad). Rangapara recorded a voter turnout of over 77 percent.

BJP’s Nabanita Handique and Sushil Kumar Suri of Congress were the contestants in Sonari. The constituency recorded a voter turnout of 71.3 percent.

In Ratabari, there were four candidates in the fray:  Bijoy Malakar (BJP), Keshab Prasad Rajak (Congress), Birendra Ravidas (SUCI-C) and Parikhit Roy (Independent). Ratabari recorded a voter turnout of 74.37 percent.

In Jania, there were the highest numbers of nine candidates in the fray. However, the contest was triangular among Towfiqur Rahman (BJP), Shamsul Hoque (INC) and Rafiqul Islam (AIUDF). Jania recorded a voter turnout of over 80 percent.

You might also like