Assam government to form Committee on ST status

The cabinet of Assam government will form a High Level Committee to look into the issue of Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) Amendment Bill. The decision was taken during a meeting held in Delhi with the Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh and Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal.

The said committee will take into view the opinions of the stakeholders before coming into a conclusion, informed Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) chief Hagrama Mohilary after the meeting. He further informed that there was no discussion held regarding the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill.

The tribal organisations in Assam believed that Centre’s this move would eliminate the genuine tribal people of the State. The communities that are proposed to be included in the ST category are Tai Ahom, Chutia, Moran, Motok, Koch Rajbongshi, and tea tribes of Assam. The new ST communities will be categorized as ST (Others).

Assam Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, MPs Biswajit Daimary, Kamakhya Prasad Tasa and former Minister and current MLA Chandan Brahma were also present during the meeting.

You might also like