Assam government to release 20 prisoners


In a major development, the Assam government has decided to release 20 prisoners from across the state on the occasion of Gandhi Jayanti on October 2.

The government will be releasing five prisoners from Dibrugarh central jail. The lucky prisoners are Sachin Nayak, Suresh Manjhi, Sunil Debnath, Biren Gogoi and Suljina Dhan.

Konbhai Gogoi will walk free from Jorhat prison while Naseer Ali will be released from Barpeta district jail.

Golaghat district jail will also see five of its prisoners leaving the premises in Bikash Sharma, Hareshwar Gogoi, Radhe Orang, Indrajit  Rajkhowa and Amar Kumar Hazarika.

Four prisoners, Hemlal Katel, Tarun Basumatary, Anjan Tantuai and Sanjeev Basumatary, all currently lodged in Dhemaji district jail will be released on the occasion of Mahatma Gandhi’s birth anniversary.

Shiralu Tapna from Tezpur central jail, Hikmat Ali from Nagaon Central jail, Rajen Sharma and Rajdeo Lodhi from Tinisukua district jail will also get the opportunity to walk as free men post October 2.

You might also like