BJP MLA Pramod Sawant takes oath as new Goa CM


Succeeding Manohar Parrikar, BJP MLA Pramod Sawant has been sworn-in as the new Chief Minister of Goa late Monday night.

Governor of Goa Mridula Sinha administered the oath of office and secrecy to the new CM.

Along with Sawant, the Governor also administered the oath to 11 other ministers, including those from BJP’s allies Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) and the Goa Forward Party (GFP).

Sawant, 46, who earlier served as the Speaker of Goa Legislative Assembly had to resign from his post before taking oath as the new CM.

Former CM Parrikar’s Cabinet were also among those who were sworn in by the Governor last night.

You might also like