BJP MPs submit privilege notice against Rahul Gandhi

Congress party Vice President Rahul Gandhi during Rally for six UPA candidates of Mumbai at MMRDA ground in BKC on Sunday. Express photo by Prashant Nadkar, Mumbai, 20/04/2014

A privilege notice has been submitted to the Speaker by four Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Members of Parliament against Congress leader Rahul Gandhi for making allegations against Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Defense Minister Nirmala Sitharaman.

Four BJP MPs- Nishikant Dubey, Anurag Thakur, Dushyant Singh and Prahalad Joshi- have reportedly submitted a notice to the Speaker complaining that Rahul Gandhi tried to mislead the Parliament by alleging and blaming PM Modi and Defense Minister Nirmala Sitharaman but never presenting substantial proof to back his claim.

According to the convention followed in the House, Rahul Gandhi should not have raised allegations against any particular member without giving prior notice and should have presented valid evidence to the Speaker.

Alleging corruption charges against the Defense Minister, Rahul had said that Sitharaman had lied to the nation about the secrecy clause in the Rafale fighter jet deal, countering which Sitharaman clarified that the initial agreement with the secrecy clause was signed in 2008 under the UPA government.

The Congress had previously demanded details regarding the deal which the government had refused to disclose citing the secrecy clause.


(Featured Image – Indian Express)

You might also like