BJP still in dilemma over Nagaon, Tezpur seats


The BJP which is yet to announce the final candidates’ list for Assam seats, is still seen in dilemna over two seats, Nagaon and Tezpur. Reportedly, candidates for the rest eight constituencies have been finalised.

State BJP president Ranjit Das has informed that although the list for the eight seats is ready, party president Amit Shah is yet to sign the list.

When asked about Himanta Biswa Sarma’s name not to present in the list, Das said, “Sarma will remain as the NEDA Convenor and he will be in-charge of the northeast election campaign. Pertaining to these duties, we have decided to leave him out of the list.”

Further, the state president added, “It was only on Ram Madhav’s request that Sarma’s name was sent for the Tezpur seat.”

Speaking on MP RP Sharma’s name being on the list, Das said that the former’s name had been sent to the panel.

Informing Pratidin Time, the BJP leader said that the Congress and AIUDF have formed an alliance due to which there is not much of words’ battle is seen between the two parties.

You might also like