BJP wins two Arunachal seats unopposed


BJP wins two Arunachal Assembly seats long before the voting process even started. Because there are no other contestants and they won unopposed.

They are Kento Jini from Alo (East) and Taba Tedir (Yachuli). Today both of them were unofficially declared victorious as their nomination papers were found valid.

Arunachal Pradesh has a long history of unopposed candidature. In 2009 there were three while in 2014 there was one. The size of the Assembly constituency is average 10,000 and winning candidate needs just around 5000 votes.

Arunachal Pradesh is huge and sparsely populated.

Quipping on the development, the BJP General Secretary Ram Madhav said the BJP winning journey has just started from the East.

The election to the 60 member Arunachal Pradesh assembly will take place on April 11 along with two Parliamentary constituencies.

You might also like