Bypolls: Voting Underway In Manipur


Polling is underway for the by-elections to four assembly constituencies in Manipur on Saturday, an Election Commission official said.

According to a PTI report the official was quoted saying that more than 1.35 lakh voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in 203 polling stations in the by-elections to Lilong and Wangjing-Tentha seats in Thoubal district, Saitu in Kangpokpi and Wangoi in Imphal West.

Voting has commenced from 7 am, the official said.

The electors will decide the fate of 11 candidates in the four seats.

Optional postal ballot facility has been provided for electors above 80 years of age, COVID-19 patients and voters quarantined at different centres, the official said.

Electors with COVID-19 related symptoms will be allowed to vote in the last hour of the poll. All polling personnel have been provided with personal protection equipment (PPE).

Polling will continue till 5 pm, and counting of votes will be conducted on November 10, the report said.

You might also like