Centre to grant ST status to 6 communities


The Central government has approved the proposal to notify Six Communities from Assam as Scheduled Tribes. These communities are at present listed as other backward classes (OBCs).

The communities are Koch-Rajbongshis, Tai Ahoms, Morans, Motoks, Chutiyas and 36 Tea Tribes. The National Commission for Scheduled Tribes (NCST) on Monday has cleared the proposal to grant ST status to six communities from Assam.

The Ministry of Tribal Affairs had forwarded the Assam Government’s proposal to the NCST. Moreover, the Registrar General of India had also supported the proposal of the state government for inclusion of the six communities as ST.

You might also like