BREAKING: Committee, 6 tribe scheduling tomorrow at LS

Big day for Assam


Monday is the big day for Assam in Lok Sabha as the Government of India is all set to announce scheduling of 6 tribes of Assam besides naming the Constitutional Safeguard committee for Assam in Parliament.

Already hectic backroom moves are on as Government wants to pass the controversial Citizenship Amendment Bill (CAB) in Lok Sabha on Tuesday, when the AASU has called for a bandh.

According to non official sources the members of the expert committee to look into the Clause VI are – noted journalist D.N Bezbaruah, former bureaucrat Madan Bezbaruah, writer Nagen Saikia, Writer Rongbong Terang, AASU advider Dr. Sammujal Bhattacharjee, Jurist Mukunda Kam Sarma and Advocate General of Assam Ramesh Barpatra Gohain. Representatives of Central Govt. shall be there.

Meanwhile the Government is all set to announce scheduling of 6 tribes of Assam in Parliament tomorrow and issue an ordinance by the afternoon to placate the people of Assam before the Citizenship Amendment Bill (CAB) was passed on Tuesday.

The 6 tribes are Tai Ahom, Koch-Rajbongshi, Moran, Muttack, Chutia and Adivasi.

You might also like