EC announces Lok Sabha poll schedule


Election Commission officials on Sunday evening have addressed a press conference at Vigyan Bhavan in New Delhi, where the Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora has announced the schedule for the Lok Sabha polls 2019.

The full election schedule:

  • Phase 1: 11 April 2019
  • Phase 2: 18 April 2019
  • Phase 3: 23 April 2019
  • Phase 4: 29 April 2019
  • Phase 5: 6 May 2019
  • Phase 6: 12 May 2019
  • Phase 7: 19 May 2019
  • Date of Counting: 23 May 2019

“Elections will be held in seven phases. The last date for nomination for first phase is March 25. Counting of votes will take place on May 23.”

“All candidates will have to complete Form 26 (affidavit) to be submitted with nomination papers. Incomplete Form 26 will lead to rejection of nomination”

“Transportation of EVMs to be tracked through GPS”

“Voter-verifiable paper audit trails (VVPATs) will be used along with electronic voting machines (EVMs) in all the booths. A total of 17.4 lakh VVPAT units will be used,” Arora said.

The CEC said, “Photo voter slips cannot be used as standalone proof of identity at the time of casting vote. Instructions of this effect have been issued already by EC. Approximately, 10 lakh polling stations will be set up this time as opposed to the nine lakh polling stations that were set up in 2014.”

You might also like