EC announces re-polling on December 7 and 10

The Assam State Election Commission (ASEC), after witnessing major anomalies during the first phase of the Panchayat Polls has announced  re-polling on 7th and 10th in 43 polling centers across the state.

According to the announcement, on Dec 7 , re-polling will take place in 3 polling centers in Kamrup(Rural), Dhemaji-4 polling centres, Dhakuakhana, Sivsagar and Gohpur- 2 polling centres each Charaideu, Biswanath, Titabor- 1 polling centre will go for re-polling respectively.

Lakhimpur will go for re-polling with 27 polling centres on December 10.

As per the Election Commission(EC), out of all the districts Darrang comparatively saw a huge turnout of 81.52 pc voters followed by Kaliabor with 80.56 pc and Rangia with 80.47 pc. Sadiya saw the least turnout of 65.58 pc voters

The first phase of elections were held on December 5 from 7 am till 3 pm in 1477 polling stations across 16 districts.

The second phase of the election will be held in 9428 polling stations out of which 3081 are sensitive 3081 and 1666 are very sensitive A total of 35,056 candidates are in the fray of the elections on December 9.

You might also like