Eight Rajya Sabha MPs Suspended for One Week


Eight members of the Rajya Sabha were on Monday suspended for a week due to the chaos that erupted on Sunday in the house during the passage of the two farm bills.

Trinamool Congress’s (TMC) Derek O’Brien, Dola Sen, Aam Aadmi Party’s (AAP) Sanjay Singh, Congress Leaders Rajeev Satav, Ripun Bora and Syed Nasir Hussain and KK Ragesh and Elamaram Kareem of the CPI(M) were among those who were suspended.

Two contentious farm bills were passed by the Rajya Sabha by voice vote on Sunday, leading to chaotic scenes and opposition members slogan-shouting. TMC’s member at one point climbed on to the chairperson’s podium demanding a discussion.

Opposition members were upset after deputy chairperson Harivansh did not consider their demand for a division of votes on a resolution to send the two bills to a select committee. The house had to be adjourned due to the ruckus and chaos.

The Farmers’ Produce Trade and Commerce (Promotion and Facilitation) Bill, 2020, and The Farmers (Empowerment and Protection) Agreement on Price Assurance and Farm Services Bill, 2020, were passed by the upper house.

The Essential Commodities (Amendment) Bill, 2020 however could not be taken up and is slated to be heard today.

You might also like