Election Commission announces poll dates for 5 states


The Election Commission of India on Saturday announced Assembly poll dates for five states– Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Mizoram and Telangana. Mizoram and Madhya Pradesh will go on polls on November 28, while voting will take place in Telangana and Rajasthan on December 7.

Assembly elections in Chhattisgarh will be held in two phases, on November 12 and 20 respectively.

Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram to vote on November 28, 2018 in a single phase.

These five assembly elections would be crucial for the BJP as it gears up for the Lok Sabha election next year. The BJP is in power in three of these states – Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh.

Featured Image: NDTV



You might also like