Electioneering of 1st phase ends today


The heat and dust of the 1st phase electioneering in Assam shall come to an end today at 1600 hours as five Lok Sabha constituency shall vote on April 11 to elect their representatives from 41 contestants.

It is going to be a direct contest between Congress and BJP and amongst the five only in two, Koliabor and Jorhat, there is a close contest as in the other three Dibrugarh, Lakhimpur and Tezpur, the BJP is considered ahead of their rival Congress.

The BJP has run a very high voltage campaign mainly relying on the shoulders of Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal and Dr Himanta Biswa Sharma with an occasional visit from national leaders like Prime Minister Narendra Modi or BJP President Amit Shah.

On the other hand, the Congress campaign has not been very organized with internal dissension was visible right in the field with the majority of the Congress leaders are not very comfortable under the stewardship of State President Ripun Bora.

Their leader Rahul Gandhi did come to Assam and addressed two meetings but by sheer numbers, it was much less enthusiastic than that of the Prime Minister.

The second phase of voting will take place on  April 18 and the third phase will be April 23.

Here is the list of main contenders

ConstituencyContestant No 1Contestant No 2
DibrugarhRameshwar Teli (BJP)Paban Singh Ghatowar(INC)
LakhimpurPradan Baruah (BJP)Anil Borgohain (INC)
JorhatSushanta Borgohain(INC)Tapen Gogoi(BJP)
KoliaborGaurab Gogoi(INC)Moni Madhab Mahanta(AGP)
TezpurPallab Lochan Das (BJP)M G V K Bhanu (INC)


You might also like