FIFA World Cup 2018 all set to kick start on June 14


The 21st edition of the FIFA World Cup is set to kick off at Moscow’s Luzhniki Stadium on June 14, where 32 nations, divided into eight groups will fight it out for the popular trophy in the month long event.

The opening ceremony will be a star studded affair dotted with the presence of English singer and songwriter Robbie Williams and Russian soprano Aida Garifullina.

After the ceremony, Russia will lock horns with Saudi Arabia in Luzhniki Stadium at 8:30 pm (IST). The final will take place on July 15 at the same stadium.

A total of 64 matches will be played in 12 venues located in 11 cities spread across Russia.

Germany, who is the defending champion, will be aiming to win their fifth title. Other teams who are favourites to win this year’s FIFA World Cup are five-time winners Brazil, Spain, France and Portugal.

Iceland and Panama will participate in the World Cup for the first time. This is the first time a FIFA World Cup event is being held in Russia.

You might also like