Guwahati wins Nuruddin Ahmed Trophy


By Kaustove Moni Kakoty

Guwahati Sports Association (GSA) won the prestigious Nuruddin Ahmed Trophy Senior Inter-District Cricket Tournament-2019 title by the virtue of a first-innings lead against North-East Frontier Railway Sports Association (NFRSA) in the final at Judges Field in Guwahati on Monday.

On Day-3, GSA resumed their first innings at an overnight score of 133/4 and collapsed at to a total of 221 runs. Rahul Hazarika was the top scorer for GAS with 57 runs in 77 balls, while Riyan Parag scored 41 runs in 74 balls. However, the GSA bowlers outshined the NFRSA batsmen and restricted them to 147 in their first innings. For GSA, Ranjit Mali took 4 wickets for 69 runs, while Deepal Gohain took 3 wickets for 53 runs. Till stumps were drawn for the end of the last day’s play, GSA were 36/3 in 14 overs.

Riyan Parag was awarded the Player of the Tournament, while NFRSA’s Sib Sankar Roy (368 runs in 8 innings) received the Best Batsman award and Barpeta’s Amlanjyoti Das (32 wickets in 7 innings) received the Best Bowler of the tournament award. GSA’s Rahul Hazarika won the Man of the Match award for the final.

You might also like