History’s biggest election is on

Five constituencies of Assam will exercise their franchise today for the first phase of the Lok Sabha Elections. Polling has begun from 7 AM and will end by 5 PM

The five parliamentary constituencies where voting is underway are Tezpur, Kaliabor, Jorhat, Dibrugarh and Lakhimpur.

Here are some details of the constituencies:


Total candidates: 7

Total voters in Tezpur: 14,94,878

Male voters: 7,63,599

Female voters: 7,31,248

Transgender voters: 31

Total polling stations: 1,880


Total candidates: 7

Total voters in Kaliabor: 17,31,610

Male voters: 8,83,388

Female voters: 8,48,174

Transgender voters: 46

Total polling stations: 2,174


Total candidates: 8

Total voters: 13,60,328

Male voters: 6,89,038

Female voters: 6,71,283

Transgender voters: 7

Polling stations: 1,753


Total candidates: 8

Total voters: 13,12,195

Male voters: 6,62,636

Female voters: 6,49,533

Transgender voters: 28

Total polling stations: 1,657


Total candidates: 11

Total voters: 17,04,447

Male voters: 8,66,675

Female voters: 8,37,730

Transgender voters: 42

Total polling stations: 2,110


It may be noted that 91 parliamentary constituencies, which are spread over 20 States and Union Territories including Assam will also go polling today.

You might also like