Hurricane Dorian : US states declare emergency


Governors of U.S. states of Florida and Georgia declared state of emergency in their respective states Thursday as the powerful Hurricane Dorian is expected to hit the region in the days ahead.

Governor Ron DeSantis of Florida expanded the state of emergency declaration he issued for 26 counties Wednesday to one that covers all of the 67 counties in the state “due to Hurricane Dorian‘s uncertain projected path.”

“All residents, especially those along the east coast, need to be prepared for possible impacts,” DeSantis said in a statement on his website.

Governor Brian Kemp of Georgia declared a state of emergency in 12 counties in the southern coastal area of the state.

You might also like