Jammu & Kashmir set to be bifurcated


Jammu and Kashmir is just hours away from losing its statehood as the State will be bifurcated into two Union Territories – Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh. Girish Chandra Murmu and RK Mathur have been appointed the new Lieutenant Governors (LG) for the Union territories (UTs) of Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh respectively.

Both Murmu and Mathur will be sworn in by Chief Justice of J&K High Court Gita Mittal at separate functions to be held in Srinagar and Leh on Thursday.

This is for the first time that a state is converted into two UTs even though there are numerous examples of a UT becoming a full state or a state bifurcating into two States.

The total number of states in the country will be now 28 while the total UTs will go up to seven.

You might also like