Karnataka’s BS Yediyurappa finally gets a cabinet


Three weeks after Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa was sworn in, Karnataka finally has a cabinet with 17 ministers taking oath on Tuesday.

The Chief Minister, criticized by the Congress and JDS for the delay in the appointment of ministers, proposed the names of 17 MLAs including KS Eshwarappa, Jagdish Shettar, CT Ravi and Basavaraj Bommai to Governor Vajubhai Vala on Monday. Criticizing the ruling BJP for its one-man government, the Congress alleged that the administration resembled President’s rule.

Choosing ministers has been a tightrope walk for Mr Yediyurappa, who came to power for the fourth time after multiple resignations toppled the year-old Congress-JDS coalition. Seventeen MLAs quit the previous government, plunging it into a minority and facilitating the BJP’s takeover.

Whether the MLAs who quit stand disqualified will be decided by the Supreme Court. Former Speaker Ramesh Kumar had disqualified all 17 rebels under the anti-defection law, after which the MLAs approached the Supreme Court.

You might also like