Know Your Lok Sabha Constituency: Dhubri


116 parliamentary constituencies spread over 13 States and 2 Union Territories will go to polls in the phase-II of polling of Lok Sabha elections on April 23. The campaigning for this phase ends today.

In Assam, four parliamentary constituencies will go to polls in this phase. Out of these constituencies, here are some details about the Dhubri Lok Sabha Constituency:

There are 15 candidates in the fray for the Dhubri Lok Sabha seat. The candidates are:

  1. Abu Taher Bepari (INC)
  2. Zabed Islam (AGP)
  3. Nurul Islam Choudhury (All India Trinamool Congress)
  4. Badruddin Ajmal (AIUDF)
  5. Alakesh Roy (Hindusthan Nirman Dal)
  6. Surat Jaman Mondal (SUCI-C)
  7. Zohirul Islam Khan (Purvanchal Janta Party-Secular)
  8. Nripen Das (Bharatiya National Janata Dal)
  9. Mehbubar Rahman (Republic Party of India-A)
  10. Shajahan Sheikh (Voters Party International)
  11. Anamika Sarkar (Independent)
  12. Uttam Kumar Ray (Independent)
  13. Mir Hussain Sarkar (Independent)
  14. Rukunur Zaman (Independent)
  15. Shukur Ali (Independent)

Out of these 15 candidates, the major fight will be in between AIUDF sitting MP Badruddin Ajmal, Congress’ Abu Taher Bepari and AGP’s Zabed Islam.

  • Total voters: 18,56,168
  • Male voters: 9,48,971
  • Female voters: 9,07,173
  • Transgender voters: 24
  • Total polling stations: 2,450

Assembly Constituencies:

  1. Mankachar
  2. Salmara South
  3. Dhubri
  4. Gauripur
  5. Golakganj
  6. Bilasipara West
  7. Bilasipara East
  8. Goalpara East
  9. Goalpara West
  10. Jaleswar

Results in last five Lok Sabha elections:

  • 1998: Abdul Hamid, INC
  • 1999: Abdul Hamid, INC
  • 2004: Anwar Hussain, INC
  • 2009: Badruddin Ajmal, AIUDF
  • 2014: Badruddin Ajmal, AIUDF
You might also like