Know your Lok Sabha constituency: Karimganj


97 parliamentary constituencies spread over 13 States and Union Territories will go to polls in the phase-II of polling of Lok Sabha elections on April 18. The campaigning for this phase will end today.

In Assam, five parliamentary constituencies will go to polls in this phase. Out of these constituencies, here are some details about the Karimganj constituency:

As many as 14 candidates are in the fray for the Karimganj Lok Sabha constituency.

The candidates are:

  1. Kripanath Mallah (BJP)
  2. Swarup Das (INC)
  3. Radheshyam Biswas (AIUDF)
  4. Chandan Das (All India Trinamool Congress)
  5. Ajoy Kumar Sarkar (All India Forward Bloc)
  6. Nikhil Ranjan Das (Hindusthan Nirman Dal)
  7. Probash Chandra Sarkar (Socialist Unity Centre of India-Communist)
  8. Anupam Singha (Independent)
  9. Parikshit Roy (Independent)
  10. Rabindra Chandra Das (Independent)
  11. Raju Das (Independent)
  12. Ram Narayan Suklabaidya (Independent)
  13. Satyajit Das (Independent)
  14. Harilal Rabidas (Independent)

Notably, out of these 14 candidates, the major fight will be in between BJP candidate Kripanath Mallah, Congress candidate Swarup Das and sitting MP of AIUDF Radheshyam Biswas.

  • Total voters: 13,38,005
  • Male voters: 6,96,638
  • Female voters: 6,41,349
  • Transgender voters: 18
  • Total polling stations: 1,721

Assembly Constituencies:

  1. Ratabari (SC)
  2. Patharkandi
  3. Karimganj North
  4. Karimganj South
  5. Badarpur
  6. Hailakandi
  7. Katlicherra
  8. Algapur

Results in last five Lok Sabha elections:

  • 1998: Nepal Chandra Das (INC)
  • 1999: Nepal Chandra Das (INC)
  • 2004: Lalit Mohan Suklabaidya (INC)
  • 2009: Lalit Mohan Suklabaidya (INC)
  • 2014: Radheshyam Biswas (AIUDF)
(Data collected from
You might also like