Know Your Lok Sabha Constituency: Kokrajhar


Four Assam parliamentary constituencies will go to polls in the phase-III on April 23. Out of these constituencies, here are some details about the Kokrajhar (ST) constituency:

In Kokrajhar (ST), there are 9 candidates in the fray for the seat.

The candidates are:

  1. Pramila Rani Brahma (BPF)
  2. Biraj Deka (CPI M)
  3. Sabda Ram Rabha (INC)
  4. Urkhao Grawa Brahma (UPPL)
  5. Charan Iswary (Purvanchal Janta Party-Secular)
  6. Rajesh Narzary (Voters Party International)
  7. Naba Kumar Sarania (Independent)
  8. Prasanjit Kumar Das (Independent)
  9. Ranjoy Kr. Brahma (Independent)

Out of these 9 candidates, the major fight will be in between sitting MP Naba Kumar Sarania, BPF’s Pramila Rani Brahma, Congress’ Sabda Ram Rabha and UPPL’s UG Brahma.

  • Total voters: 17,65,423
  • Male voters: 9,00,318
  • Female voters: 8,65,066
  • Transgender voters: 39
  • Total polling stations: 2,347

Assembly Constituencies:

  1. Gossaigaon
  2. Kokrajhar West (ST)
  3. Kokrajhar East (ST)
  4. Sidli (ST)
  5. Bijni
  6. Sorbhog
  7. Bhabanipur
  8. Tamulpur
  9. Barama (ST)
  10. Chapaguri (ST)

Results in last five Lok Sabha elections:

  • 1998: Sansuma Khunggur Bwiswmuthiary, Independent
  • 1999: Sansuma Khunggur Bwiswmuthiary, Independent
  • 2004: Sansuma Khunggur Bwiswmuthiary, Independent
  • 2009: Sansuma Khunggur Bwiswmuthiary, BPF
  • 2014: Naba Kumar Sarania, Independent
You might also like