Kumaraswamy passes floor test at Karnataka State Assembly

Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy who was confident about winning the majority, passed the floor test on Friday.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLAs walked out from the Vidhana Soudha (state assembly) as protest after BJP state Chief BS Yeddyurappa said his party will hold a state-wide bandh on May 28, if Kumaraswamy did not waive off farmer loans. Thus, this led Kumaraswamy to prove his majority with ease.

The Congress-Janata Dal (Secular) alliance had 117 MLAs including two independent candidates which is six more than the majority required to form a government in the state. All the 117 MLAs voted in Kumaraswamy’s favour.

Yeddyurappa, on the other hand, confirmed during his address in the assembly that the BJP had withdrawn the name of Suresh Kumar as its candidate for the Speaker’s post, as it wanted the election of the Speaker to be unanimous.

You might also like