Lok Sabha rejects no-confidence motion, NDA triumphs with 325 votes


The Lok Sabha rejected the No-Confidence motion against the Prime Minister Narendra Modi led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government after a 12-hour long debate followed by the PM’s 90 minute reply on Friday.

The motion, moved by former NDA ally Telugu Desam Party (TDP) was easily put down as the NDA bagged 325 votes in their favour, against the 126 votes that the Opposition garnered in favour of dissolving the current government.

Several political parties like the Shiv Sena, Biju Janata Dal and Telangana Rashtra Samithi refrained from voting or were not present in the House when the voting took place. Biju Janata Dal had staged a walk-out to protest against the ruling government. With 451 out of 534 MPs present, the majority mark was brought to 226.

The Prime Minister outlined the progress and achievements of his government in a 90 minute speech while addressing the allegations against his government put forward by the Opposition.

The Prime Minister stated that the country’s 125 crore population stood with the NDA government and expressed confidence that his government would return to power in 2019.




Featured Image: Hindustan Times

You might also like