LS POLL:Cong release 1st list for Assam


Congress last night released the first list for Assam which clearly shows that  writ of the state party boss Ripun Bora and Debabrta Saikia are running stronger than the former Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi.

The the AICC released list is:

  1. Karimganj- Swarup Das
  2. Silchar – Sushmita Dev
  3. Kaliabor – Gaurav Gogoi
  4. Jorhat- Sushanta Borgohian
  5. Dibrugarh – Paban Singh Ghatowar

This is a major defeat for Tarun Gogoi as he vehemently opposed the candidature of Jorhat ticket holder Sushanta Brgogain for two reasons. First he want to promote is old friend Bijoy Krishna Handique’s daughter and secondly does not like to see another strong emergence of an Ahom leader very close to his son’s constituency  Kaliabor.

The list also ends the speculation that Radheshyam Biswas, the sitting AIUDF MP from Karimganj,  could walk over to the Congress.  The deal is now that Radheshyam Biswas would continue to fight from AIUDF and there is a secret understanding with  the Congress and AIUDF for consolidation of Muslim votes in favour of AIUDF and hence a Hindu candidate was selected  by Congress.

The remaining seats are expected to be announced in next two days.

The Congress also released two names for Meghalaya retaining Vincent Pala in Shillong and former Chief Minister Mukul Sangma in Tura Lok Sabha Constiuency.


You might also like