1st phase nominations ends today


Filing of nominations for the first phase of Lok Sabha elections will end today. Altogether 91 constituencies spread over 20 states and union territories will go to polls in this phase on the 11th of April.

Five constituencies of Assam will go polling in the first phase of elections. Kaliabor, Dibrugarh, Tezpur, Lakhimpur and Jorhat.

For the Tezpur constituency, Pallab Lochan Das from BJP and MGVK Bhanu from Congress will their nominations today. Bhubaneswar Kalita will file nominations from Congress for Mangaldai.

Moni Madhab Mahanta will file nomination today fielding for AGP from the Kaliabar seat, NPP candidate Abdul Aziz will also file nominations for the same seat today. There are also possibilities of two independent candidates filing their nominations.

For the Dibrugarh constituency, Pawan Singh Ghatowar will file his nominations from Congress.

On the other hand, BJP candidate Pradan Barua filed his nomination for the Lakhimpur Constituency. Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal was present during Barua’s filing of nomination. For the same constituency, fielding from CPI Arup Kalita also filed his nomination today. An independent candidate is likely to file nomination for the seat.

BJP’s Tapan Gogoi to file nominations today for the Jorhat constituency.

The scrutiny of nominations will take place tomorrow, while March 28 is the last date for withdrawal of candidature. The counting of votes will be taken up on the 23rd of May after the completion of all phases of polling.

You might also like