Luka Modric wins 2018 Ballon d’Or

Real Madrid midfielder and Croatia captain Luka Modric has bagged the 2018 Ballon d’Or. The 33-year old has become the first player other than former teammate and now Juventus forward Cristiano Ronaldo or Barcelona’s Lionel Messi to claim the award in more than a decade. Before Modric, both Messi and Ronaldo had won 5 Ballon d’Ors each.

Modric had won the Golden Ball in this year’s World Cup. He led Croatia to its maiden Cup Final before they lost to France in the summit clash. At the gala ceremony held in Paris last night, Ronaldo came second behind Modric, while Messi finished fifth. Atletico Madrid frontman Antoine Griezmann was third, while PSG’s teenage sensation Kylian Mbappe was fourth.

Women’s Ballon d’Or was also named for the first time. Lyon’s Norwegian striker Ada Hegerberg claimed the award. Kylian Mbappe won the Kopa Trophy at the star-studded Ballon d’Or ceremony. Ballon d’Or honours the players who have performed the best over the previous year, based on votes from international journalists and national team coaches and captains.

You might also like