Manipur Creates History with All Women Polling Booths


Manipur is represented by two parliamentary constituencies- inner Manipur and outer Manipur (ST reserved). The first phase for outer Manipur was held on April 11.

The stage has been set for the second phase polling for the second phase Inner Manipur Parliamentary constituency across 1300 polling stations under 32 assembly constituencies in Manipur’s four valley districts today on April 18.

This time round, in Inner Manipur parliamentary constituency, around 138 polling stations including 38 polling stations under Yaiskul Assembly Constituency in Imphal East district and 40 polling stations under Bishnupur Assembly constituency in Bishnupur district will be manned by women polling personnel.

This will enter the history books, with the state being the first in the country to introduce all-women polling booths in an entire assembly constituency. While such booths have been set up in other places too, Manipur takes the cake by having an entire assembly segment managed completely by women poll officers.

Rangitabati Waikhom, deputy commissioner of Imphal East district – who happens to be a women officer gave the idea of all women polling station in one assembly segment, PK Singh, chief electoral officer of the state .

PK Singh, chief electoral officer of the state, says: “Manipur is known for its female power. Most movements on social issues have been headed by the Manipuri women. We thought election is the right time to showcase this power through this kind of an arrangement. Interestingly, the district election officer and AROs were keen to set up as many all-women polling stations as possible. ”

You might also like