Manipur Set for Change of Regime After 9 MLAs Quit BJP

After a major setback in N Biren Singh led NDA government in Manipur, the Congress is preparing to make a grand comeback under former Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh. Nine opposition MLAs, including three BJP legislators, resigned on Wednesday to join the state Congress. According to sources, the party leaders will stake claim to form the government and meet Manipur Governor on Thursday (June 18) to insist they have the numbers.

Four legislators from the National People’s Party (NPP) including three ministers – Health and Family Welfare Minister L Jayantakumar Singh, deputy chief minister Yumnam Joykumar Singh, YAS minister Letpao Haokip and tribal affairs minister N Kayisii withdrew support to the BJP-led government. The lone independent MLA from Jiribam and Trinamool Congress MLA has also expressed support to the Congress.

The divisions in BJP were prominently on display since October last year when Chief Minister N Biren Singh and Public Works Minister Th Biswajit Singh and the team landed in New Delhi separately to meet senior party leaders to sort out differences.

Speaking of the downfall in the BJP, Manipur Congress Spokesperson, Ningombam Bupenda Meitei said that the beginning of the downfall of BJP rule in India begins in Imphal. Very soon, there will be people’s true government which is the new Congress-led coalition government in Manipur, said Meitei.

Meitei further stated that he is confident that the three-time Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh will again rule the state adding that the division in BJP in Manipur marks the dusk of Modi regime in India for 2024.

However, former deputy chief minister Y Joykumar Singh officially announced his resignation citing disrespectful treatment to legislators, and in view of the assembly elections in 2022.

You might also like