Mary, Hima Nominated For Indian Sports Honors


Ace boxer from Manipur and Olympic medallist Mary Kom from and Assam spinster Hima Das havebeen nominated for the for the second edition of the Indian Sports Honours which will be awarded in Mumbai on Saturday.

Along with Mary and Hima, others nominated for the Sportswoman of the Year (Individual Sports) were star shuttler PV Sindhu, wrestler Vinesh Phogat and heptathlete Swapna Barman.

Indian batsmen  Cheteshwar Pujara, Rohit Sharma , Jaspreet Bumrah and Indian football captain Sunil Chhetri  figured among a host of star sportspersons nominated for the Sportsman of the Year (Team Sport) award.

For the Indian Sportswoman of the Year (Team Sport) award, cricketer Smriti Mandhana, Mithali Raj and Harmanpreet Kaur and national hockey side goalkeeper Savita Punia has been nominated.

For the individual category of Sportsman of the Year award, star javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra,  shuttler Kidambi Srikanth, wrestler Bajrang Punia, rising shooter Saurabh Choudhary and ace billiards and snooker player Pankaj Advani were the nominees.

The awards are in 17 categories, including one Life Time Achievement Honour.

Winners for 11 categories will be selected by the ISH Jury, which has the likes of Pullela Gopichand, Abhinav Bindra, Sardar Singh, Mahesh Bhupathi, P T Usha and Anjali Bhagwat in it. The remaining six will be chosen by the fans through voting on Twitter.

You might also like