Mob attacks election officials at Merapani


In a tensed situation in Merapani Wednesday night, a group of people blocked the vehicle where the election officials were heading back to district headquarters. The group was led by one identified as Peter Dang, who is the Golaghat area commander of pro-talk ALNA.

According to reports, election officials rented a different vehicle as their driver was drunk and this caused the mob to block the vehicle. The group even attacked the election officials as well as the security personnel travelling in the vehicle. They tried to snatch the weapon from the security personnel’s hand.

Later, CRPF and police reached the spot to control the mob. Meanwhile, a case has been registered against Peter Dang in Merapani Police Station. The election officials, who were attacked by the mob were identified as Abinash Saikia, Prafulla Saikia, Biswajit Bora Thengal and security personnel Bajendra Nath Hazarika and Khagen Dewry.

You might also like