National Sports Awards ceremony to be held today


The annual National Sports Awards ceremony will be held today in New Delhi. President Ram Nath Kovind will bestow the awards to the selected lot of sportsperson at the Rashtrapati Bhawan .

Wrestler Bajrang Punia and para-athlete Deepa Malik will be conferred with Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. However, Bajrang will skip the awards ceremony as the wrestler is training in Russia for the upcoming World championships.

All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, footballer Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, hockey player Chinglensana Kangujam, sprinter Mohammed Anas, heptathlete Swapna Barman and shooter Anjum Moudgil are among those names, who will be honoured with the Arjuna award. 

Anjum too will miss the award ceremony as she is participating in the ISSF’s fourth and final World Cup Rifle/Pistol stage in Rio De Janerio, which began on Wednesday.

Simultaneously, IPS Officer Aparna Kumar will be honoured with the Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award in the ‘Land adventure’ category. It is the highest national recognition for outstanding achievements in the field of adventure on land, sea and air.

You might also like