NDPP Wins Nagaland


In a closely fought contest in Nagaland for the lone Lok Sabha seat, the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) candidate Tokheho Yepthomi got the  better of his nearest rival- Congress’ KL Chishi and defeated him by a margin of 16,344 votes.

Nagaland Chief Election Officer (CEO) Abhijit Sinha informed that Yepthomi polled 5,00,510 votes, while Chishi got 4,84,166 votes.

The veteran Congress leader was in the lead for most of the day; but as counting gradually came to an end, the NDPP candidate emerged as the eventual winner.

Others in the contest included NPP’s Hayithung Tungoe and independent candidate Dr MM Thromwa Konyak.

Tungoe polled 14997 votes and Konyak polled 4620 votes.

It may be mentioned here that 2064 votes were cast under the None of the Above (NOTA) category.

You might also like