Nepal passes map bill including disputed Indian territory


Nepal’s Parliament on Saturday passed the amendment to include the new political map featuring areas of Lipulekh, Kalapani and Limpiyadhura in the Constitution of Nepal.

The passage of the bill by all 258 members of the House from all parties was a show of unprecedented unity across Nepal’s political spectrum, and brought together Nepalis for a common cause.

Major Opposition parties including Nepali Congress (NC), Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal (RJP-N) and Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) voted in favour of the government bill to amend Schedule 3 of the Constitution to update the national emblem by incorporating the new controversial map.

The move is expected to further strain relations between the two South Asian neighbours at a time when tension has flared on the border between India and China over disputed territory in Ladakh.

In a reaction Saturday, spokesman Anurag Srivastava of the India’s Ministry of External Affairs said that ‘the artificial enlargement of claims is not based on historical fact or evidence and not tenable. It is also violative of our current underwtanding to hold talks oin outstanding boundary issues.’

You might also like