New Rs. 20 coin announced


The Finance Ministry on Thursday announced new Rs. 20 coin along with the new series of visually impaired friendly circulation coins. Rs. 1, Rs. 2, Rs. 5 and Rs. 10 are other various denominations of coins released as part of the new series.

The Rs. 20 coin is shaped like a 12-edged polygon (dodecagon). The outside diameter of new Rs 20 coin will be 27mm and it will weigh 8.54 grams.

The composition of the new coin will be 65 percent copper, 15 percent zinc and 20 percent nickel for the outer ring, while the inner ring (centerpiece) will be 75 percent copper, 20 percent zinc and 5 percent nickel.

The face of the coin will bear the Lion Capital of Ashoka Pillar with the legend “Satyamev Jayate” inscribed below. The coin will be flanked on the left periphery with the word “Bharat” in Hindi and on the right periphery with the word “INDIA” in English.

You might also like