Newly Elected RS Members To Swear-In on July 22

The newly elected members of the Rajya Sabha would be administered the oath on July 22 which also includes the three MPs of Assam.

The oath taking ceremony will be conducted at the House of Chamber of the Speaker of the Rajya Sabha. Only one member will be allowed to attend the oath-taking ceremony along with the MPs.

M. Venkaiah Naidu, chairman, RS, has decided to proceed with the oath-taking ceremony keeping in view the resumption of meetings by the department-related parliamentary standing committees of both the RS and Lok Sabha and the interest expressed by the new members to participate in such meetings, Naidu’s office said in a statement.

A Member of Parliament (MP) can participate in the meetings and other house proceedings only after being administered the oath or affirmation; even though they are eligible to draw salaries and other benefits.

For the first time, the oath-taking ceremony will be carried out in the chamber of the House during inter-session because of the unprecedented coronavirus disease (Covid-19) outbreak. “Subscribing to oath or affirmation is usually done either during the session or in the chamber of the RS chairman, if the House is not in session,” the statement said.

A total of 61 members from 20 states, who have been elected to the Upper House, will be administered the oath in the chairman’s chamber while complying with Covid-19 induced social distancing norms and only a family member, or a guest will be allowed to accompany the newly elected MP.

The MPs were informed of the decision by the RS secretary-general and those who fail to turn up will be administered oath or affirmation during the monsoon session, which is likely to begin after August 15.

You might also like