No-confidence motion, NDA shall sail through

As the political spectrum of India is all glued to the development surrounding the Telegu Desam Party sponsored No-confidence motion, the NDA is all set to sail through even as the opposition is marshaling its ranks for a self check strength before the General Election.

On Friday, the central government will have to prove that it enjoys majority support in the Lok Sabha to continue in power for the next 10 months before the 2019 general elections. The BJP on its own has 273 Members of Parliament in the Lok Sabha, excluding Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, which in itself will take it past the majority mark of 267, in a reduced house size of 532.

This number is set to rise with allies declaring their support for the BJP, despite the fact that ironically the challenge the government faces is from an erstwhile partner, the Telugu Desam Party.

The Shiromani Akali Dal, Janata Dal (United), Lok Janshakti Party, Apna Dal are among those who have already announced that they will stand with the government in defeating the Opposition’s motion. Together they have 14 MPs. It was the Shiv Sena that was playing truant but shall fall in line eventually.

The whole no confidence motion will be mainly used in the Parliament by both the sides for a thorough debate and close ranks before the next year General Election.





Featured Image: Free Press Journal

You might also like