Nobel Prize in Chemistry Awarded To Goodenough, Stanley & Yoshino


The 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry has been awarded to John B. Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino for the development of lithium-ion batteries, announced the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences on Wednesday.

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry is awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and is one of the five Nobel Prizes that were established by the will of Alfred Nobel, a business, chemist, engineer, inventor and philanthropist.

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry has been awarded 110 times to 180 individuals between 1901 and 2018.

It may be mentioned that Canadian-American cosmologist James Peebles and Swiss Scientists Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz won the 2019 Nobel Prize in Physics for revealing the wonder of the evolution of the universe and discovering planets orbiting distant suns.

On the other hand, the 2019 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine was awarded to scientists William G Kaelin, Jr. Peter J Ratcliffe and Gregg L Semenza their discoveries of how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability.  

The Nobel Prize for Literature will be announced on Thursday while the Nobel Prize for Peace will be out on Friday.

On Monday, October 14, the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences — popularly known as Nobel Prize in Economics will be announced.

You might also like