OIL FC clinch Bordoloi Trophy


Oil India FC on Wednesday clinched the 66th Bordoloi Trophy, beating Assam State Electricity Board Sports Club (ASEBSC) at tiebreaker in the final at Nehru Stadium in Guwahati.

The OILFC emerged victorious by 3-0 goals via tiebreaker following a 2-2 draw during the regulation time. Sirandeep Moran of OILFC won the player of the match award, while Nihal Das of OILFC won the goalkeeper of the match award.

It may be mentioned here that ASEB got the better of Green Valley FC 3-1 while Oil India thrashed Assam Regimental Centre, Shillong 4-1 in the semifinals.

Bordoloi Trophy also known as the Bharat Ratna Lokopriya Gopinath Bordoloi Trophy is an Indian football tournament held in Guwahati and organized by Guwahati Sports Association. The tournament was first started in 1952 and is named after Assam’s first chief minister Gopinath Bordoloi.

You might also like