Om Birla Elected as Speaker of Lok Sabha


Two-time BJP MP Om Birla has been elected as the speaker of the Lok Sabha on Wednesday. The 56-year-old member holds the constituency of Kota-Bundi from Rajasthan.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who is also the Leader of the House, moved the motion to choose Birla as the speaker. He also congratulated Birla for his election and called him an “inspiration” for the House.

All major opposition parties, including Congress, Trinamool, DMK and BJD supported Birla’s name. He will take the charge from party MP Virendra Kumar, who was appointed as the pro-tem speaker of the lower house.

A three-time Rajasthan MLA, Birla has a 25 years experience of legislative procedures. He also served as parliamentary secretary to the state government from 2004 to 2008.

Om Birla defeated Congress’s Ramnarayan Meena with a huge margin of over 2.5 lakh votes in Lok Sabha Election 2019. He was first elected to the parliament in 2014.

Birla was the national vice president of BJP’s youth wing, the Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha (BJYM).

He is a member of the Standing Committee on Energy in Parliament, member of Committee on Petitions and Consultative Committee for Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment. It may be mentioned here that he has worked for the welfare of differently abled people and women. During 2001Gujrat earthquake, he led a relief team of over 100 volunteers which also included doctors to help the victims.

You might also like