Opposition leaders skip meeting on simultaneous polls


Several Opposition leaders on Wednesday skipped the all-party meeting chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi to discuss simultaneous elections in the country.

The list of leaders not attending the meeting includes former Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu, West Bengal CM and Trinamool chief Mamata Banerjee, Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav, Delhi CM and Aam Aadmi Party chief Arvind Kejriwal, BSP chief Mayawati. Congress leaders have also not attended the as the party opposed to the idea of holding simultaneous Lok Sabha and assembly elections.

Hours before the meeting, BSP chief Mayawati tweeted that the idea of simultaneous Lok Sabha and assembly polls as a ploy to divert attention from issues like poverty. Though, she stated that she would have attended the meeting if it was on EVM.

However, NDA partner Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray is not attending the meeting.

You might also like